Biography

Alexandre studied percussion successively at the conservatories of Avignon, Creteil, and in the CNSMD of Lyon under the guidance of Jean Geoffroy. He also learned piano, composition, jazz and rock music.

During his studies, he won several international competitions: 1st prize at the Marimba Competition in Cannes (2008); Audience Prize & Dr. Glatt Prize at the Geneva International Competition (2009); 1st Prize, Audience Prize and Press Prize at Tromp Percussion Competition in Eindhoven (2012).

Alexandre is an eclectic percussionist, eager to collaborate with other artistic forms. Therefore he has worked with many choreographers and stage directors. Between 2011 and 2014, he performed more than a hundred times in Europe, USA and Japan the dance and music-theatre show Traverse with the Arcosm Cie.

In 2010 he created the music-theatre company Kahlua with his friend Matthieu Benigno. Together, they wrote a show for children called Black Box, and a piece entitled Ceci n’est pas une balle published by Alfonce Productions Editions, and which is now being performed in more than 20 different countries.

Also in 2010, he founded the SR9 Trio with Paul Changarnier and Nicolas Cousin. The ensemble won the 2012 International Percussion Competition of Luxembourg and the European Competition Musique d’ensemble FNAPEC.
Together they created the interdisciplinary shows MACHINE(s) and C O R P O R E L S (2015) and play concerts with 3 marimbas, including transcriptions and commissions to composers. Bach au marimba is released in 2015 under the Label Naïve and Alors, on danse? is planned for spring 2018.
The trio is sponsored by Adams and Resta Jay Percussions.

Since 2016, he is member of the group Percussions de Strasbourg and takes part in the new tour of the famous Pléiades by Xénakis, in collaboration with Alban Richard and the CCN of Caen.

Moreover, Alexandre performs as a soloist worldwide (USA, Canada, Brazil, Japan, Russia, UK, The Netherlands, Belgium, Switzerland, Italy, Slovakia, Lithuania, Georgia) for recitals or with the following ensembles: Ensemble Contemporain, SO Percussion, Shlagwerk Den Haag, Ensemble Contrechamps, Asko Schoënberg Ensemble, Britten Sinfonia.
He premiered pieces from composers such as Nico Muhly, Karl Naegelen, Maxim Shalygin, Alin Gherman or Benoit Montambault.

He had the chance to share his experience during master classes and clinics at the Boston Conservatory, Mc Gill University of Montréal, EMESP in Sao Paulo, Sensoku Gakuen in Kawasaki.
He was guest teacher in the Royal Conservatory of The Hague (The Netherlands) in 2015.

Biographie

Alexandre se forme aux percussions aux conservatoires d’Avignon, de Créteil puis au CNSMD de Lyon, dans la classe de Jean Geoffroy. Il étudie également l’écriture, le jazz, les musiques actuelles et le piano.

Durant ces années de formation, il est lauréat de plusieurs concours internationaux : 1er prix du Concours de Marimba de Cannes en 2008 ; Prix du public et Prix du Dr. Glatt en finale du Concours International de Genève en 2009 ; 1er prix, Prix du Public et Prix de la presse au concours Tromp Percussion Eindhoven en 2012.

Sa curiosité l’amène à rencontrer d’autres univers artistiques comme le théâtre et la danse. En point d’orgue, sa collaboration avec la Compagnie Arcosm qui le conduit à jouer, entre 2011 et 2014, plus d’une centaine de représentations du spectacle de danse-théâtre-musical Traverse dans des festivals du monde entier (Europe, USA, Japon).

En 2010, il crée avec son ami Matthieu Benigno la compagnie de théâtre musical Kahlua. Ensemble ils écrivent un spectacle jeune public, Black Box, ainsi qu’une pièce intitulée Ceci n’est pas une balle, éditée aux Éditions Alfonce et jouée aujourd’hui dans plus de 20 pays différents.

Il fonde cette même année le Trio SR9 avec Paul Changarnier et Nicolas cousin. Ils remportent en 2012 le concours International de Percussion du Luxembourg ainsi que le Concours Européen Musique d’Ensemble de la FNAPEC.
Ensemble ils créent les spectacles interdisciplinaires MACHINE(s) et C O R P O R E L S (2015) et élaborent des programmes de transcriptions et créations pour 3 marimbas. Bach au marimba sort ainsi en 2015 sous le label Naïve et la sortie du 2e opus Alors, on danse ? est prévu au printemps 2018.
Le trio est sponsorisé par les marques Adams et Resta Jay Percussions.

Depuis 2016, il est membre des Percussions de Strasbourg, avec qui il effectue notamment la reprise des fameuses Pléiades de Xenakis, en collaboration avec Alban Richard et le CCN de Caen.

Alexandre Esperet se produit régulièrement en soliste dans le monde entier (USA, Canada, Brésil, Japon, Russie, Royaume-Uni, Pays-Bas, Belgique, Suisse, Italie, Slovaquie, Lituanie, Géorgie) lors de récitals ou de collaborations (Ensemble Intercontemporain, SO Percussion, Shlagwerk Den Haag, Ensemble Contrechamps, Asko Schoenberg Ensemble, Britten Sinfonia).
Il créé des pièces de compositeurs tels que Nico Muhly, Karl Naegelen, Maxim Shalygin, Alin Gerhman ou Benoit Montambault.

Musicien passionné, il partage son expérience lors de masterclasses et de clinic-concerts : Boston Conservatory, Université Mc Gill de Montréal, EMESP de Sao Paulo, Université de Kawasaki.
Il est professeur invité au Conservatoire Royal de La Haye aux Pays Bas en 2015.